The subtle art of not saying anything

You don't have to have an opinion about everything

The tagline for Substack should be "strong opinions, loosely held"

A common post I tend to read here is this ouroboros of three to four different extremely online people citing each other's anecdotes as if that's evidence of some empirical truth.

I found myself occasionally feeling guilty that I wasn't regularly updating this ye ole blog but it occurred to me that there's no lack of Content being shoved down people's throats at a neverending pace on a daily, hourly, minute basis through all forms of communication. There seems to be this urge to keep up a constant pace of Posting that has diminishing returns for anyone's benefit.

I made peace with the idea that I'll simply use this platform when I feel compelled enough to have something to say and not force myself to say something for the sake of saying it.

Maybe I'm wrong. Maybe it's good to just have this constant stream of consciousness flowing through our social networks and blogs. Maybe it helps work through tough problems and eventually leads to some answers. I'm not unaware that this very post is simply an observation of something I have been seeing, based on nothing more than personal experience.

I think it is worth considering that perhaps we've veered too far into the realm of punditry and musing when it comes to our information diets and not enough consuming foundational facts and data to actually form a basis for how things are rather than how we'd prefer them to be. Being a part of The Discourse is largely overrated while shutting up, listening and learning are sorely underrated.